Author Topic: Time for a new Rig  (Read 16236 times)

Offline Missileman

• Case Whacker
  • Smart like a Stick.... Sharp like a Marble
    • View Profile
Time for a new Rig
« on: May 31, 2007, 12:33:53 pm »
Hey Guys, I've been gaming on my same machine for several years now and it's time for an upgrade.
My old rig isn't that bad.... AMD 3500+, w/ x800xt agp video card, 2gb of ram, couple raptors in raid... it did the trick... but she's getting slow, can't handle alot of the newer games and I want something with some more kick.... I'm looking for some suggestions on a great gaming rig makeup... I'm undecided if I will break my tradition of staying with AMD. I'd like to hear some ideas... I'm really out of the loop on what not to get and what to look out for.

Missile Out  O0
There is no better frag then the one you don't see coming!

Offline Zeus

• I AM Canadian!
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • [S]odbuster
    • View Profile
    • BCCHardware
Re: Time for a new Rig
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2007, 03:02:38 pm »
Here's what I'd suggest for some horsepower without breaking the bank.  In my opinion, you'd be silly to go with AMD right now.

Core 2 Duo E6600 (or Q6600 for future multi-threaded games).
nForce 650i SLI motherboard
2GB DDR2-1066
8800GTS Graphics
2 - 500GB 7200.10 Seagate Drives in RAID 0
Audigy X-Fi Soundcard
22" or larger LCD.

In my experience an E6600 from Intel will beat out the 6000+ X2 (AMD's fastest) processor at stock speeds.  If you want to overclock, you can get the E6600 (Default speed 2.4GHz) up to 3.2GHz without any trouble, and the 6000+ AMD processor (Default speed 3.0GHz) up to 3.3GHz.  When overclocked Intel mops the floor with AMD.

I'm not a fanboy - that's why I switch sides so often.  Whoever offers the best technology at the best price - It's been Intel ever since Core 2.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2007, 10:03:06 am by Zeus »

Offline Seeker

• Solder Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2007, 08:55:05 pm »