Tuesday, 14 October 2014 07:11
Dropbox didn't have much to be thankful for this past long weekend here in Canada. Not only were rumors floating around that they were hacked, the also had a bug sweep through their system that caused some of their users data to be permanently deleted. This was a very bad weekend. Thankfully, they weren't hacked. Unfortunately, a third-party exploit caused thousands of their users logins to be accessed and a good number of them were published online.
Dropbox has confirmed that a bug in some older versions of its desktop apps deleted the files of some people who turned on Selective Sync, which limits cloud syncing to certain folders. Typically, this would happen after a crash or forced reboot, making a bad problem worse -- at least a few users found that they'd lost years' worth of content through no fault of their own.