Author Topic: Hardware Monitoring & G15  (Read 68938 times)

Offline Fujitsu

  • JimmyTheKing
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +75/-73
  • Gender: Male
  • Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2007, 11:42:37 am »
I had one of those way back when, it was ear-piercingly loud

the one you ordered says 20db, so that shouldn't be a problem.

Out of curiosity, since you've added the front intake, what have your temps dropped to?

Offline FEVER

  • Static Discharge
  • **
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2007, 06:00:51 pm »
 Ok, heres the thing, I havent recieved the Scythe yet, BUT.......I DID remove the CD-ROM & tossed a 120mm in the drive cage temporarily, untill it arrives........just to see what happened.

 

 Sorry, theyre backwards.....
 #1 was stock set-up, including Arctic's "Freezer Pro 7" cpu cooler, and 2 SLI 7950GT's with stock cooling from eVGA. 1 lower front 120mm intake, 1 120mm rear exhaust, and dual fan PSU. Idle.
 #2 was after i swapped CPU & GPU coolers with Zalman, & swapped the 2 120mm fans with noctua's. Case Temp spiked, all others followed. Idle.
 #3 was with Zalman's & adding the 120mm fan to drive cage, (2nd front intake)
 Looks very promising! Cant wait for my stuff to arrive! I think i can squeeze a few more degrees off this.
 BTW, if that slot cooler is loud, i've got a spare noctua i can see if i can mount in it. My PC has a funky slot opening in rear, between window & expansion slot thumbscrews. A little larger than a dual expansion slot, and it runs vertical, not horizontal. I'll be mounting this slot cooler there, with the fan facing both zalman GPU coolers. Well, i''ll TRY anyways  :laugh:
 Crap, sorry everything is Fahrenheit!  Here :  http://www.e-nterests.com/cfconverter.php
« Last Edit: February 11, 2007, 06:09:22 pm by FEVER »

Offline FEVER

  • Static Discharge
  • **
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #17 on: February 14, 2007, 05:11:47 pm »
 Honest, I'm planning on getting back to you ASAP on those temp differences. I've gone through about 6 different configurations and fan voltages....now i'm just waiting for the temperature outside to cool off a bit, back to where i was when i started.......Today we had a high of 27.2 ......tonight & tomorrow looks a bit more comfortable.

Offline FEVER

  • Static Discharge
  • **
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2007, 09:00:03 am »
 OK, Fujitsu......I was gonna PM u the Temps & stuff, but maybe better public, and I'll try to keep it short.
  The Front 120mm Intake fan.
 Keep in Mind!

 I have 2 Intakes & 3 Exhausts ! -all 120mm now, since the addition of my new Antec PSU.
 
 Honestly, IMO, by adding this Front 120mm intake, exhausts & case pressures became large variables!
 For me, it was worth the extra money & time spent. It depends on your rig.
 I dont really think it helped cool my CPU, as much as it just allowed me to place additional exhaust for VGA cooling, got rid of dead-air pockets & maintained casepressures.
 At least a 5-10 degree drop in GPU Temps below stock, Idle. CPU maybe 6 degrees below the Arctic Cooler Freezer Pro 7 (stock) Idle. 
 Arctic cooler Freezer Pro 7 worked well for CPU, so theres not much noticable difference at the chip, but it  didnt exhaust heat from case like the Zalman does.
 All temps have dropped somewhat. Enough to justify it IMO.
 I spent 2 Hours writing this little bit, making sure to work it correctly for ya. I hope this helps if u decide to try it!
 Also, trying to systematically figure everything out is somewhat tough, as I changed both GPU coolers, and CPU cooler prior to mounting this 2nd intake, PLUS, i wasnt able to run full 3DMark, which cooks things a bit more than just online gaming. (which is how i checked temps before.)
 The addition of the Zalman (CPU & both GPU) coolers raised CaseTemps on me, along with everything else.
 So from what I can figure out, is I dropped 6 degrees on GPU1, 9 degrees on GPU2, 2 degrees on CPU......then Increased CaseTemp by 4 degrees, and NB by a degree or two.....just by adding the Zalman coolers!
 Most of my temps are pretty much the same with the addition of this front intake fan, as they were after installing the Zalman coolers. 
           -The main difference is my GPU temps have decreased at least 7 degrees, due to this 2nd intake allowing me add the exhaust for GPU heat. -And obvoiusly, case temps then dropped as well, along with a few others like NB & HD.
 
 I think the biggest difference will be under load, and the only reason I would guess this, is because the temps didnt really decrease MUCH with the addition of this fan, WHEN COMPARED TO the temps i got after adding the Zalmans. The case just exhausts heat much more efficiently now, AND you definately see this happening IMMEDIATELY after exiting 3DMark.
 DEPENDING on AMBIENT TEMPS!!!!.... ive seen MBM displays drop from "full load" temp, back down to a comfortable "idle" temp within a matter of 3-5 minuites, after closing 3DMark06Pro Demo's.
 Sry, i had to think about this a couple days, to get it all straight in my measly little brain.  :uglystupid2: :D ;D
« Last Edit: February 26, 2007, 08:58:29 am by FEVER »

Offline Fujitsu

  • JimmyTheKing
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +75/-73
  • Gender: Male
  • Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2007, 11:10:00 pm »
good to see that you've got temps under control, video cards are the components that really need to be kept cool and sometimes are the toughest to keep cool, and it seems like thats exactly what you've achieved

out of curiosity, is it much louder now than it was before you started?

Offline FEVER

  • Static Discharge
  • **
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2007, 06:00:46 am »
 Yes, but too much comsidering. Im kinda surprised in the Noctua fans, lack of "fan noise" at 12v, I cant hear them really unless I put my ear up to them, and even then it sounds mostly like wind-noise.
 Even the single scythe fan doesnt produce much noise.
 I have a feeling the VF900's at 12v static, and the CNPS9700 NT under PWM control produce the most "whoosh" noise in the case. But this is a guess, as even by taking the side-door off, most noise I hear is coming from the rear. The 2 front Noctua's are almost inaudible.
 
 Personally, I smoke, and have one of those "double window fans" constantly running to exhaust smoke & heat from the room, PLUS 1 more fan to blow fresh air into my room from outside.....any PC noise kinda gets drownded out. I did turn it off while writing this though, just to listen.
 I assume u already played with these noctua's once or twice. I'd always like more airflow, but I think well worth the $$, very quiet for the amount of air they push. Just pricey. I've got $100 USD in 4 casefans  >:D :angel:............crazy..........but quiet!  O0
 

Offline FurnaceZer

  • BCC n00b
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #21 on: June 02, 2009, 07:24:57 am »
I am so glad that i saw this discussion,,.I really got too many information that I really need.,





« Last Edit: June 02, 2009, 07:52:03 pm by Fujitsu »

Offline keincarlos18

  • BCC n00b
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2009, 01:08:31 am »
They should ever known that the monitor has made control,because  I know BCC is finally linked to MBM, even though theyre no longer updating their software.


« Last Edit: June 05, 2009, 06:30:42 am by Fujitsu »

Offline bhlt

  • BCC n00b
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware Monitoring & G15
« Reply #23 on: May 05, 2010, 12:16:11 am »
The days of no money, how too, how to play the game without the game currency, I have a lot of this wow gold Need to come to our website to buy bar

Edited for spam...
« Last Edit: May 05, 2010, 05:47:51 am by Zeus »