Author Topic: Working the dual quad cores  (Read 5913 times)

Offline VE6JHC

  • Case Whacker
  • ***
  • Posts: 488
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Heat Removal by H20
    • View Profile
Working the dual quad cores
« on: January 19, 2009, 01:04:47 PM »
Check out these CPUs working...

Video Games will send you straight to Hell and Satan has a Rail Gun!

Offline Zeus

  • I AM Canadian!
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3616
  • Karma: +678/-200
  • Gender: Male
  • [S]odbuster
    • View Profile
    • BCCHardware
Re: Working the dual quad cores
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2009, 04:13:20 PM »
What are you running?  Folding @ Home I hope. ;-)

Offline epithanatios

  • BCC Staff
  • Static Discharge
  • *****
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +2/-1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Ben's Blog
Re: Working the dual quad cores
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2009, 10:53:32 PM »
oh wow...that is pretty impressive i gotta say.... :o

Offline Seeker

  • Solder Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 833
  • Karma: +27/-25
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Working the dual quad cores
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2009, 08:14:46 AM »
Looking at the processes he has a lot running..... :D
Remember kids, if you happen to find yourself upside down and on fire, you've just discovered the meaning of "too fast".

Offline VE6JHC

  • Case Whacker
  • ***
  • Posts: 488
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Heat Removal by H20
    • View Profile
Re: Working the dual quad cores
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2009, 12:47:13 PM »
The number of processes running is a bit of a redherring. The OS is Server 2008 64 bit so there are more processes running than an XP machine plus I have some software that required a hard ware dongle to work. Currently I have 5 different dongles plugged in cause I am too lazy to pull them out all the time. A better measurement is the amount of Ram in use....you can see that my ram use is fairly low (but I am running 16 GB or ram). The program I was running was not Folding@home (sorry Zeus!). I was running DNA by AccessData. DNA is a distrubutted network attack program for cracking passwords. You install the  software on the Master/Server machine and then install the client on all your workstations. If any of the workstations are idle it fires them up to work on a piece of the puzzle to crack the password. This particular password was and Adobe Acrobat PDF with a password on it. It took 3 days to get the 9 digit password. As a side note here are some of the numbers for the different machines -

MacPro running Windows 2008 Server with a pair of 3.2 Ghz Xeon quad core CPus hits around 400,000
passwords per minute
Dell 2850 Server running Win2K3 with a pair of dual core 3.2 Xeons hits around 35,000
No name Pentium 4 running XP hits around 18,000
Old AMD XP1800+ hits around 8,000 (not worth the power it consumes)
Video Games will send you straight to Hell and Satan has a Rail Gun!

Offline VE6JHC

  • Case Whacker
  • ***
  • Posts: 488
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Heat Removal by H20
    • View Profile
Re: Working the dual quad cores
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2009, 12:51:07 PM »
Currently my DNA network includes 4 MacPros with dual quad core 3.2 Ghz Xeons and the following Dell Servers - 2800, 2850 and a 2950 but I just took delivery of 5 more MacPros with the dual quad core 3.2 Ghz Xeons. With the old setup I was using running 1.2 million to 1.5 million passwords attempts but the new setup should bump me to over 3 million!
Video Games will send you straight to Hell and Satan has a Rail Gun!

Offline Fujitsu

  • JimmyTheKing
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +75/-73
  • Gender: Male
  • Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
    • View Profile
Re: Working the dual quad cores
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2009, 02:08:13 PM »
wow, 3 million attempts per minute is pretty impressive, especially when you compare it to a single p4 that is only pulling 18,000

I know who to call when I forget my passwords, lol