Author Topic: Gigabit Ethernet  (Read 8798 times)

Offline Zeus

  • I AM Canadian!
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3616
  • Karma: +678/-200
  • Gender: Male
  • [S]odbuster
    • View Profile
    • BCCHardware
Gigabit Ethernet
« on: January 29, 2003, 10:19:32 AM »
D-man and I just snagged a couple of GVC Gigabit Ethernet cards.  They are schweet!  With a simple twisted cable (I found out this morning that the cards are NWay, so no twisted cable was needed) we were easily reaching speeds of 250Mbit, occasionaly up to 350Mbit.

I noticed in the manual for the card that it states, 1000 Base theoretical throughput.  No big surprise.  I was wondering if any of you have heard or seen an Gigabit optimization page on the web.  There is a ton of settings that are available, and I think that this card could be tweaked a bit.

BTW we were using Cat5E cable, (enhanced for Gigabit).

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 03:00:00 PM by 1056513600 »

Offline Fujitsu

  • JimmyTheKing
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +75/-73
  • Gender: Male
  • Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
    • View Profile
Re: Gigabit Ethernet
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2003, 05:55:10 PM »
how much is the cable worth??
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 03:00:00 PM by 1056513600 »

Offline Zeus

  • I AM Canadian!
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3616
  • Karma: +678/-200
  • Gender: Male
  • [S]odbuster
    • View Profile
    • BCCHardware
Re: Gigabit Ethernet
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2003, 02:23:06 AM »
It's actually the same price as Cat5, and you can tell by the feel of it, that it's much better cable.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 03:00:00 PM by 1056513600 »

Offline Fujitsu

  • JimmyTheKing
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +75/-73
  • Gender: Male
  • Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
    • View Profile
Re: Gigabit Ethernet
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2003, 07:57:39 AM »
I'm assuming its backwards compatible, meaning you can use it for all 10 base and 100 base networks also
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 03:00:00 PM by 1056513600 »

Offline Zeus

  • I AM Canadian!
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3616
  • Karma: +678/-200
  • Gender: Male
  • [S]odbuster
    • View Profile
    • BCCHardware
Re: Gigabit Ethernet
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2003, 08:48:54 AM »
It's all backwards compatible.  Cat5E is just better quality Cat5 cable.  And the nic is 10/100/1000 with NWay, so you never need a twisted cable to link two machines without a switch.  Just plug and rip!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 03:00:00 PM by 1056513600 »

Offline Fujitsu

  • JimmyTheKing
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +75/-73
  • Gender: Male
  • Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
    • View Profile
Re: Gigabit Ethernet
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2003, 11:12:37 AM »
wow, that feature alone would almost be worth buying it for!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 03:00:00 PM by 1056513600 »