Author Topic: eVGA GeForce 6200 w/Turbo Cache  (Read 7484 times)

Offline Zeus

  • I AM Canadian!
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3616
  • Karma: +678/-200
  • Gender: Male
  • [S]odbuster
    • View Profile
    • BCCHardware
eVGA GeForce 6200 w/Turbo Cache
« on: March 17, 2005, 06:51:57 AM »
http://www.benscustomcases.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=881&Itemid=1
Quote
After a fair bit of silence from 3DGameMan, Rodney and Sherry have pulled together another review.  This time around they are taking a look at the eVGA e-G. . .

I think "Turbo Cache" is one of the most lame, useless, over labeled features available on a video card today.  The card ships with 64MB of killer 64-bit DDR. . . yeah, 64-bit, and uses system RAM like a laptop with a SiS integrated video chipset.  Hopefully, information pays off, and customers aren't suckered into this product. . . just my thoughts - and rant.

Offline MegaHz

  • Solder Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 616
  • Karma: +25/-15
  • Gender: Male
  • Steam Name : MegaHz
    • View Profile
Re: eVGA GeForce 6200 w/Turbo Cache
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2005, 11:14:23 AM »
Price wise, this card looks to be a great solution to running dual monitors or a DVI monitor on PCI-Express. We've seen nothing but higher end PCI-E cards to this point, but thats about all it looks good for.

Offline Fujitsu

  • JimmyTheKing
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +75/-73
  • Gender: Male
  • Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
    • View Profile
Re: eVGA GeForce 6200 w/Turbo Cache
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2005, 02:22:44 PM »
guess it will be a decent card for workstations and such that need the processing power but don't need a 256mb video card, then again I know people running TNT2's and still claim its a smoking card

Offline Fujitsu

  • JimmyTheKing
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Karma: +75/-73
  • Gender: Male
  • Nostalgia ain't what it used to be
    • View Profile
Re: eVGA GeForce 6200 w/Turbo Cache
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2005, 02:24:48 PM »
but on a side note, whats everyone impressions on eVGA as a company? hadn't really noticed them until lately with all their new 6600's and 6800's, seems like they are a bit cheaper than others such as Asus, just wondering if anyones used a eVGA card or whether they are just a cut-rate card maker

Offline Zeus

  • I AM Canadian!
  • BCC Admin
  • Hard Modder!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3616
  • Karma: +678/-200
  • Gender: Male
  • [S]odbuster
    • View Profile
    • BCCHardware
Re: eVGA GeForce 6200 w/Turbo Cache
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2005, 05:01:44 PM »
Marauding Demon runs eVGA 6800GT.  I've never heard bad things about them personally.  Mind you I've never heard many good things either.

Offline LobbDogg

  • Solder Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 852
  • Karma: +15/-12
  • Gender: Male
  • and I'm a man who loves his Taffy!
    • View Profile
    • World of Xen
Re: eVGA GeForce 6200 w/Turbo Cache
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2005, 06:49:40 PM »
Remeber though, it has turbo in the name, this must mean its fast.   :P
Intel i7 650 | Asus P6TD Deluxe | Geforce 660 GT | 12 GB Patriot PC12800 | Corsair 600watt Modular PSU

Offline SkylineGTR

  • BCC n00b
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Blah Blah Blah
    • View Profile
Re: eVGA GeForce 6200 w/Turbo Cache
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2005, 02:35:13 PM »
Just like how the X-treme label means its better.
AMD Athlon XP 3000+ | Abit AV8 | 1gig Corsair TwinX PC3200 | E-VGA Geforce FX5900XT | 120gig WD + 74gig Raptor | SB Live 5.1